Trees 30Opacity

Criminal Justice Behavioral Health

 

Overview

The Criminal Justice Behavioral Health program was created to assist law enforcement, legal, and behavioral health agencies to provide support and problem solving to reduce the impact of allegedly mentally ill individuals on the legal and law enforcement system.  This program maintains an on-going working involvement with community advocates and seeking educational opportunities to end the destructive and harmful effects of mental illness stigma. This program can assist with educating, organizing, and standardizing Crisis Intervention Team (CIT) trainings along with utilizing the Sequential Intercept Model in an effort to reduce recidivism through the criminal justice system.

Memphis Model

The "Memphis Model" of pre-arrest jail diversion for those in a mental illness crisis is an innovative program that began in Memphis, Tennessee  in 1987 and is regarded as the standard for CIT around the nation. View this Memphis Model summary for an overview and history of the program.

CIT Center of Excellence (CITCOE)

A partnership developed between the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST) and Greater Oregon Behavioral Health, Inc. (GOBHI) with the goal of broadening the reach of CIT across Oregon. 

Crisis Intervention Teams (CIT)

We are working with counties on establishing Crisis Intervention Teams and helping to coordinate trainings for the teams. This important course focuses on the field of law enforcement and its role in the mentally ill, drug or alcohol afflicted, and aging communities. The information, tools, and resources presented are designed to enhance first responder response and reduce the overall risk of injury or death.

Crisis Intervention Team Training Objectives:  

• Provide information and resources to law enforcement personnel who find themselves handling calls involving emotionally disturbed individuals.
• Increase the ability of law enforcement to successfully manage an emotionally disturbed individual.
• Reduce the number of inappropriate incarcerations involving people with mental illness.
• Provide relief to an overburdened criminal justice system.
• Develop/implement a treatment response system for persons experiencing emotional or mental crisis.
• Develop/sustain officer interest and involvement on calls involving emotionally disturbed individuals.
• Continue to develop relationships between mental health providers, law enforcement and mentally ill individuals and their families. 

TESTIMONIALS 

“Great work on scenarios. I was not wanting to do this, but had fun. WAY TO GO.”  Clatskanie Police Department
“Knowing all the people in the county got together for one common goal, to help people (scenario day).”  Umatilla Tribal PD 
“Learning about people’s interactions with LE made it easier to understand their perspective.” Columbia County Sheriff’s Office. 
“I thought this was very successful and look forward to working on future classes”. Ontario Police Department. 
“Enlightened me on what people are feeling-hearing or why they are acting the way they do”. Malheur County Jail 

2017 CIT Training Calendar

Date

County

Program

Contact Name

Contact Email

Feb 6 - 10, 2017

Wasco

Mid-Columbia Gorge CIT

Stephen Bradley

Stephen.bradley@mccfl.org

Feb 13 - 17, 2017

Ontario

Ontario County CIT

Ridg Medford

Ridg.medford@ontariooregon.org

Feb 13 - 17, 2017

Clackamas

Clackamas County CIT

Julie Collinson

jcollinson@clackamas.us

Feb 13 - 17, 2017

Polk

Polk County CIT

Tyrone Jenkins

Jenkins.tyrone@co.pold.or.us

Feb 27 - March 3, 2017

Coos

Coos County CIT

Ross Acker

Ross.acker@chw.coos.or.us

March 20 – 24, 2017

Umatilla

Umatilla County CIT

Det. Bill Wright

wright@umatilla-city.org

April 3 -7, 2017

Marion

Marion County CIT

Dep Matt Wilkinson

mwilkinson@co.marion.or.us

April 10 -14, 2017

Deschutes

Deschutes County CIT

Molly Wells-Darling

mwells@stcharleshealthcare.org

April 20, 27 May 4, 11, 12, 2017

Grant

Grant/Wheeler CIT

Rick Brunk

Rick.brunk@gobhi.net

June 5 -9, 2017

Columbia

Columbia County CIT

Brianna Mares

BriannaM@ci.st-helens.or.us

July 24 – 28, 2017

Yamhill

Yamhill County CIT

Cpt Tim Symons

Tim.Symons@mcminnvilleoregon.gov

August 7 – 11, 2017

Malheur

Malheur County CIT

Ridg Medford

Ridg.medford@ontariooregon.org

Sept 18- 22, 2017

Benton

Benton County CIT

Sgt. Randy Hiner

Randy.c.hiner@co.benton.or.us

Sept 18 -22, 2017

Douglas

Douglas County

Colleen Roberts

Roberts5888@msn.com

October 9 – 13, 2017

Columbia

Columbia County CIT

Brianna Mares

BriannaM@ci.st-helens.or.us

October 9 – 13, 2017

Clackamas

Clackamas County CIT

Julie Collinson

jcollinson@clackamas.us

October TBA

Deschutes

Deschutes County CIT

Molly Wells-Darling

mwells@stcharleshealthcare.org

October 16-20, 2017

Lincoln

Lincoln County CIT

Lt. Jamie Russell

jrussell@co.lincoln.or.us

October TBA

Wasco

Mid-Columbia Gorge CIT

Stephen Bradley

Stephen.bradley@mccfl.org

Wallowa

Wallowa County CIT

Quinn Berry

Quinn.berry@gobhi.net

Not yet scheduled

Oregon DOC CIT

Chris Mortenson

Christopher.w.mortensen@doc.state.or.us

Not yet scheduled

Klamath

Klamath County CIT

Rich Rose

RRose@KBBH.org

Not yet scheduled

BOEC CIT

Melanie Payne

Melanie.payne@portlandoregon.gov

Not yet scheduled

Lane

Lane County CIT

Sgt. Steve Sieczkowski

Steven.sieczkowski@co.lane.or.us

Not yet scheduled

Jackson

Jackson County CIT

Cpl. Josh Schilder

Josh.schilder@cityofmedford.org

Sequential Intercept Model

About This Training

This 1-day workshop, with an optional additional 1/2-day guided exercise is designed to tap into local expertise by bringing together key stakeholders to develop a “map” that illustrates how people with mental and substance use disorders come in contact with and flow through the local criminal justice system. This map identifies opportunities and resources for diverting people to treatment and indicates gaps in services. The SIM workshop is based on the Sequential Intercept Model developed through SAMHSA’s GAINS Center at Policy Research Associates (PRA).


OBJECTIVES
  • GOBHI provides examples of successful systems integration, promising programs, and emergent collaborations from around the United States
  • Participants establish a local set of priorities for change


PLANNING FOR ACTION

  • This 1/2-day optional addition to the SIM workshop is a guided exercise that enables communities to determine areas where immediate steps will affect a more cohesive, integrated approach to service delivery
BENEFITS
  • Facilitates cross-system communication and communication
  • Helps identify underused resources
  • Improves the early identification of people with co-occurring disorders who come into contact with the criminal justice system, increases effective service linkage, reduces the likelihood of people recycling through the criminal justice system, enhances community safety, and improves quality of life

Download the GOBHI SIM brochure

For more information on SIM, download the GAINS Center SIM brochure.

Contact
For general questions regarding CJBH, email: CIT@gobhi.net

Carol Speed
Criminal Justice Behavioral Health Manager

carol.speed@gobhi.net

Eilene C. Flory
Criminal Justice Behavioral Health Liaison

eilene.flory@gobhi.net