Green Header 2

Mental Health First Aid

 

Mental Health First Aid is a public education program that introduces participants to risk factors and warning signs of mental health problems, builds understanding of their impact and overviews appropriate supports. This 8-hour course uses roleplaying and simulations to demonstrate how to offer initial help in a mental health crisis and connect people to the appropriate professional, peer, social and self-help care. The program also teaches common risk factors and warning signs of specific illnesses like anxiety, depression, substance use, bipolar disorder, eating disorders and schizophrenia. Mental Health First Aid is included on the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration’s National Registry of Evidence-based Programs and Practices (NREPP).

In the state of Oregon, more than 18,000 people are trained in Mental Health First Aid. Over one million people are trained nationally.

View full-size map

GOBHI's Certified Instructors

Instructors are certified by the National Council for Behavioral Health

Erin Rust, Wasco/ Hood River County 
erin.rust@gobhi.net
541-397-0542

Linda Watson, Grant County
linda.watson@gobhi.net
541-620-0444

Sumuer Watkins, Clatsop County
sumuer.watkins@gobhi.net
503-791-6650

Jonathan Hankins, Columbia County
jonathan.hankins@gobhi.net
541-591-5045

Eilene Flory, Gilliam County
eilene.flory@gobhi.net
541-771-7449

Nicole Hollenbeck, Union County
nicole.hollenbeck@gobhi.net
406-241-8137

Contact

Erin Rust
School Based Program Coordinator

MHFA Statewide Coordinator/ Instructor

541-397-0542

erin.rust@gobhi.net

Resources

National Council for Behavioral Health (MHFA)
mentalhealthfirstaid.org

Mental Health First Aid Oregon (AOCMHP) 
mhfaoregon.org